kmt logo block 正體中文 | 日本語
new icon  
title img
about kmt KMT Introduction Chairman's Biography Organization History Charter block
block block block KMT News block General News block Editorials block Survey block Opinions block block
header image

DPP Wins Both ROC Presidency and Legislative Majority


 DPP Wins Both ROC Presidency and Legislative Majority

Source: All Taipei Newspapers

Jan.18 2016

Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) was elected President in a overwhelming victory that also saw her Democratic Progressive Party win the majority of seats in the next Legislature.

 The DPP chairwoman will become the first female president of Republic of China after garnering more than 6.89 million votes, or 56.12 percent of the vote, according to figures from the Central Election Commission.

 Kuomintang candidate Eric Chu (朱立倫) conceded defeat, having garnered only upward of 3.8 million votes, or 31.04 percent of the total vote. It was a significant decrease compared to President Ma Ying-jeou's re-election bid in 2012, when he received around 6.89 million votes to beat Tsai.

 The People First Party's candidate James Soong (宋楚瑜) finished a distant third, obtaining more than 1.57 million votes, or 12.84 percent of the vote. However, the results were a massive improvement from his 2012 presidential bid, when he won fewer than 400,000 votes.

 The Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has become the majority in the Legislature for the first time in the party history, winning 68 seats –50 district seats and 18 at-large seats – up from its total of 40 seats won in the 2012 elections.

 The KMT suffered a heavy defeat, with its number of seats decreasing sharply to 35 from 64. It will only have 24 district seats and 11 at-large seats in the 113-seat Legislature.

 The New Power Party (NPP), a political force newly formed by young reformers, obtained five seats, replacing the People First Party as the third largest party in Taiwan. The NPP won three district seats and two at-large seats.

 The PFP managed to win three at-large seats, but failed to take any district seats. The Non-Partisan Solidarity Union (無黨聯盟) garnered one seat, while an independent took a single seat.

 The KMT suffered major losses in Taipei and the greater Taipei area, which had long been one of its strongholds. Veteran KMT lawmakers Lin Yu-fang (林郁方), Ting Shou-chung (丁守中), Lee Ching-hua (李慶華), and Wu Yu-sheng (吳育昇) were defeated by a small margin. The DPP also took all the seats in southern and eastern Taiwan.  


iconAttachment : none 

Copyright©2024 Kuomintang Address: No.232~234, Sec. 2, BaDe Rd., Zhongshan District, Taipei City, Taiwan (ROC)